New Testament Exegesis Resources

The fourth edition of the acclaimed biblical Greek grammar. Clear. Understandable. Carefully organized. Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar by William D. Mounce is the standard textbook for colleges and seminaries. Since its initial publication in 1993 its integrated approach has helped more than 250,000 students learn New Testament Greek. The fourth edition of Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar has been updated throughout based on continuing feedback from professors, students, self-learners, and homeschoolers, making it even more effective for today's students. As well, improvements have been made based on recent developments in scholarship. The key to the effectiveness of Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar in helping students learn is in how it introduces them to the language. Students learn about the features of the Greek language in a logical order, with each lesson building upon the one before it. Unnecessary obstacles that discourage students and hinder progress are removed, such as rote memorization of endless verbal paradigms. Instead students receive encouragement along the way to assure them they are making the necessary progress. As well, detailed discussions are included at key junctures to help students grasp important concepts. By the time students have worked their way through Basics of Biblical Greek Grammar they will have learned: The Greek Alphabet Vocabulary for words occurring 50 times or more in the Greek New Testament The Greek noun system The Greek verbal system, including indicative and nonindicative verbs, and participles A robust suite of learning aids is available for purchase to be used alongside the textbook to help students excel in their studies. These include a workbook, video lectures for each chapter featuring the author, flashcards keyed to vocabulary in each chapter, a laminated quick study sheet with key concepts, and audio of the vocabulary for each chapter to aid in acquisition.

Since 1914, C.U.P. has published The Elements of New Testament Greek, a best-selling textbook for scholars and students of the Bible. The original work by H.P.V. Nunn was succeeded in 1965 by J.W. Wenham's book of the same title and Jeremy Duff's new edition advances a long-established tradition into the twenty-first century. Lessons are organized so the most important aspects of Greek are learned as well as the most commonly occurring words in the New Testament. Hundreds of examples cover every book of the N.T. and almost every chapter includes a passage to translate from it. A vocabulary audio CD is also available separately.

The defining feature of this textbook is the treatment of classical and New Testament Greek as one language using primary sources. All the example sentences the students will translate are real Greek sentences, half of which are taken from classical literature and philosophy and half of which are directly from the New Testament. The advantage of this approach is that it highlights the linguistic, literary, and historical connections between classical Greece and early Christianity. Rather than having students memorize isolated tables and artificial sentences, Michael Boler spent years combing through thousands of pages of literature, philosophy, and scripture to find short, powerful sentences that not only teach the grammatical concepts in each chapter, but also contain seeds of wisdom that will spark wonder and discussion. Introduction to New Testament and Classical Greek is born out of classroom experience in a Catholic liberal arts university whose students were disappointed to be forced to choose between textbooks that taught classical Greek in isolation and ones that focused exclusively on the New Testament. By the end of this book, students will have read over 200 lines of scripture and an equal amount of ancient literature from Homer to Aristotle. They will also have the grammatical knowledge to continue to read classical and New Testament Greek. Each chapter contains a section at the end that delves deeply into the etymology and background of the words and passages encountered in the respective chapter. Professors will thus be able to use these chapters as a bridge to philosophical, theological, historical, and literary topics that will enrich the class.

For many years, first-year Greek students have relied on James Allen Hewett's New Testament Greek: A Beginning and Intermediate Grammar for its straightforward approach to the fundamentals of language study. Now this trusted grammar will continue to provide beginning scholars with a solid foundation for doing translation, exegesis, and biblical interpretation.

New Testament Greek presents complex Greek grammatical concepts clearly and in terms of familiar English grammar. Each concept is then illustrated using multiple examples from the New Testament, and students apply their learning with translation exercises drawn directly from biblical text instead of artificial sentences created by grammarians. The CD-ROM included with the textbook contains powerful learning tools for vocalizing Greek, mastering new vocabulary, and identifying verb forms.

This book is intended primarily for learners who are beginning the study of the Greek Testament either without any previous acquaintance with the Greek language or with an acquaintance so imperfect that a renewed course of elementary instruction is needed.This revision, over seventy-five years since the first edition was published, retains much of the character and organization of the first edition while accommodating readers today who lack an understanding of Latin and grammar necessary for fully comprehending the original edition. For an introduction to the Greek Testament.

The Society of Biblical Literature, in keeping with its mission to foster biblical scholarship, is pleased to offer, in association with Logos Bible Software, a critically edited Greek New Testament. The Greek New Testament: SBL Edition (SBLGNT), which is freely available in electronic form and for purchase as a print edition, will be useful to students, teachers, translators, and scholars in a wide variety of settings and contexts. The SBLGNT is: Reliable: The SBLGNT was edited by Michael W. Holmes, who utilized a wide range of printed editions, all the major critical apparatuses, and the latest technical resources and manuscript discoveries as he established the text. The result is a critically edited text that differs from the Nestle-Aland/United Bible Societies text in more than 540 variation units. Freely Available: Anyone from anywhere in the world may download all or parts of the electronic edition of the SBLGNT at www.sblgnt.com. Thus, both students, teachers, clergy, and interested laypersons can use the SBLGNT in their study and writings without having to input the Greek text letter by letter. Exchangeable: The text of the SBLGNT has been encoded in a Unicode-compliant font so users can exchange files easily without having to secure a special Greek font. Users may use SBLGreek available free at http://www.sbl-site.org/educational/BiblicalFonts_SBLGreek.aspx or any other Unicode font that supports the full range of Greek characters. Versatile: In addition to granting professors and students permission to use the SBLGNT freely in their writings, the End-User License Agreement encourages the development of new electronic and print products based on the SBLGNT through a liberal permission and licensing policy.

Following intensive preparatory work, the Nestle-Aland 28th Edition (NA28) of the Novum Testamentum Graece is now available. This standard and globally preeminent reference among Greek New Testament editions has been fundamentally revised and improved. The structure of the critical apparatus was simplified and includes the combination of variants using sed or et and the distinction between consistently cited witnesses of the first and second order have now been removed.

Additionally, the readings of the newly discovered Papyri 117-127 are listed for the first time, opening up interesting perspectives particularly for the Acts of the Apostles. In the Catholic Epistles, this edition has been made consistent with the Editio Critica Maior. This led to more than 30 modifications in the main text and resulted in a critical apparatus which is newly compiled in its entirety for this section and includes a new selection of witnesses and variants. The cross-references in the margin were also systematically revised and supplemented mainly with references to early Jewish literature.
The standard edition of the Greek New Testament extensively revised
The structure of the critical apparatus consistently simplified
For the first time with the readings of Papyri 117-127
A thorough revision of the Catholic Epistles with more than 30 modifications in the main text
The cross-references systematically revised and supplemented

Includes: "Running Greek-English dictionary / compiled by Barclay M. Newman ; Textual notes / compiled by Florian Voss" [and] "Definitions of words that occur more than 30 times in the New Testament."

The Greek New Testament is priceless in its value as it is how God has given us his revelation of the gospel and of Jesus Christ.

While a few trusted Greek texts are in print, significant advances have been made in Greek translation studies of the New Testament since a standard text was adopted by academics in 1975. The Greek New Testament, Produced at Tyndale House, Cambridge has been created under the oversight of editors Dr. Dirk Jongkind (St. Edmund's College, University of Cambridge) and Dr. Peter Williams (Tyndale House, Cambridge). Together with their team, they have taken a rigorously philological approach to reevaluating the standard text―reexamining spelling and paragraph decisions as well as allowing more recent discoveries related to scribal habits to inform editorial decisions.

Ideal for students, scholars, and pastors alike, and published to coincide with the 500th anniversary of the Reformation, The Greek New Testament, Produced at Tyndale House, Cambridge is a groundbreaking contribution to biblical scholarship.

This Lexicon has a very specific and important purpose: to make the process of New Testament interpretation easier and more accurate by providing a comprehensive yet concise interpretation of Greek words that determine logical relationships between statements or clauses. These words (prepositions, adverbs, particles, relative pronouns, conjunctions and other connectors) are essential to revealing and supporting the main ideas in the text and are especially useful for interpreting logical arguments, such as those found in the epistles. While not exhaustive, this Interpretive Lexicon lists the vast majority of Greek connecting words, especially those that are notorious for being some of the most difficult for translation. The interpretive feature of the book--evaluating the word's function in discourse--is tremendously helpful for the exegetical process, allowing the translator to closely follow the logical flow of the text with greater efficiency. This Interpretive Lexicon is a valuable handbook for student, pastor, and scholar alike.

Keyed to the best-selling Beginning with New Testament Greek, this set of folding laminated pages covers declension and conjugation patterns and includes an easy-to-follow preposition chart. With these laminated sheets by your side, you will never waste time flipping through your beginning grammar looking for present active indicative endings or aorist infinitives. It's a handy "cheat sheet" that's easy to use as a quick reference or helpful to have by your side in class.

"This succinct and accessible resource will help students of Biblical languages gain a better appreciation and understanding of the rules, functions, and terminology of English grammar. Useful for beginners, intermediate, and advanced students; this quick reference guide can be used in both Biblical languages courses as well as in exegetical courses and as a resource in writing exegetical papers. Instructors will also benefit from the book as both a refresher in grammatical terms and as an additional resource for helping students define terms. This handy resource provides: Definitions of nearly 100 grammatical terms based on their English usage; Explanations of how terms are used in Greek and Hebrew; An easy-to-use quick reference tool for beginner, intermediate, and advanced biblical language students; A useful aid to exegesis; Alphabetical organization."

If you think that ... 'orist is a major artery of the heart Clause is the surname of the fat guy in the red suit Syntax is Uncle Sam's slice of alcohol and tobacco sales ... 'hen you need English Grammar to Ace New Testament Greek. It's designed to help you get a quick brush-up on the English grammar you've either forgotten or never quite learned, in a way that ties directly to your first-year Greek studies. With chapters such as "You Ain't Nothing but a Noun Dog" and "Inflection: Trouble Understanding Yoda You Have, Yes'" this colorful, entertaining book compares elements of English grammar with similar elements in Greek grammar. It can either be used as a one-week intensive study to prepare for Greek grammar, or be readily incorporated into actual Greek studies. English Grammar to Ace New Testament Greek features: A brief summary of the scope of English grammar Short, easy-to-read chapters An introductory devotion in every chapter Lessons coordinated with Mounce's Basics of Biblical Greek Tips for vocabulary memorization and sentence diagramming Glossary.

Introduces first-year Hebrew and Greek grammar students to the characteristics and functions of the language, how the sounds are pronounced and words put together, how words convey meaning, and how languages change.

A standard Greek reference tool allowing students to learn vocabulary quickly by listing words according to their frequency of use in the New Testament.

"Improving on earlier lexical works, A new reader's lexicon of the Greek New Testament incorporates all words that occur fewer than fifty times in the New Testament. In canonical order, it catalogs a word's frequency in each book, in each author's writings, and in the entire New Testament. References to rare or noteworthy word usages are included, allowing the reader to quickly identify words of special significance"

"A short guide to the pronunciation of Greek in Judea-Palestine from the Hellenistic period to the Byzantine period with special attention given to the Roman period and the time of the New Testament"-

The Basics of New Testament Syntax provides concise, up-to-date guidance for intermediate Greek students to do accurate exegesis of biblical texts. Abridged from Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics: An Exegetical Syntax of the New Testament, the popular exegetical Greek grammar for studies in Greek by Daniel B. Wallace, The Basics of New Testament Syntax offers a practical grammar for second-year students. The strengths of this abridgment will become quickly apparent to the user: 1) it shows the relevance of syntax for exegesis and is thoroughly cross-referenced to Exegetical Syntax; 2) it includes an exceptional number of categories useful for intermediate Greek studies; 3) it is easy to use, and each semantic category is discussed, and a definition and key to identification are provided; 4) scores of charts and tables are included to enable the intermediate student to grasp the material quickly

From their decades of combined teaching experience, Andreas J. Köstenberger, Benjamin L. Merkle, and Robert L. Plummer have produced an ideal resource enabling students to improve their skills so they may properly read, exegete, and apply the Greek New Testament. Designed for those with a basic knowledge of Greek, Going Deeper with New Testament Greek is a user-friendly textbook for intermediate Greek courses at the college or seminary level. In fifteen chapters, students learn Greek grammar and how to interpret the New Testament in a way that is accessible--and even fun. Also included are chapters on the Greek language and textual criticism, verbal aspect, sentence diagramming and discourse analysis, word studies, and continuing with Greek.

For seminary students, the goal of studying Greek grammar is the accurate exegesis of biblical texts. Sound exegesis requires that the exegete consider grammar within a larger framework that includes context, lexeme, and other linguistic features. While the trend of some grammarians has been to take a purely grammatical approach to the language, Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics integrates the technical requirements for proper Greek interpretation with the actual interests and needs of Bible students. It is the first textbook to systematically link syntax and exegesis of the New Testament for second-year Greek students. It explores numerous syntactical categories, some of which have not previously been dealt with in print. Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics is the most up-to-date Greek grammar available. It equips intermediate Greek students with the skills they need to do exegesis of biblical texts in a way that is faithful to their intended meaning. The expanded edition contains a subject index, a Greek word index, and page numbers in the Syntax Summary section.

After completing basic biblical Greek, students are often eager to continue to learn and strengthen their skills of translation and interpretation. This intermediate graded reader is designed to meet those needs. The reader is "intermediate" in the sense that it presumes the user will have already learned the basics of Greek grammar and syntax and has memorized Greek vocabulary words that appear frequently in the New Testament. The reader is "graded" in the sense that it moves from simpler translation work (Galatians) towards more advanced readings from the book of James, the Septuagint, and from one of the Church Fathers. In each reading lesson, the Greek text is given, followed by supplemental notes that offer help with vocabulary, challenging word forms, and syntax. Discussion questions are also included to foster group conversation and engagement. There are many good Greek readers in existence, but this reader differs from most others in a few important ways. Most readers offer text selections from different parts of the Bible, but in this reader the user works through one entire book (Galatians). All subsequent lessons, then, build off of this interaction with Galatians through short readings that are in some way related to Galatians. The Septuagint passages in the reader offer some broader context for texts that Paul quotes explicitly from the Septuagint. The Patristic reading from John Chrysystom comes from one of his homilies on Galatians. This approach to a Greek reader allows for both variety and coherence in the learning process. This reader is a collaborative project that developed out of an advanced Greek course at Portland Seminary (2017-2018). The following students contributed equally to the content of the textbook. Alexander Finkelson (MATS, Portland Seminary, 2018) Bryn Pliska Girard (MATS, Portland Seminary, 2018) Charles E. R. Jesch (MDIV, Portland Seminary, current student) Paul C. Moldovan (MDIV, Portland Seminary, current student) Jenny E. Siefken (MATS, Portland Seminary, current student) Julianna Kaye Smith (MATS, Portland Seminary, 2018) Jana Whitworth (MDIV, Portland Seminary, current student) Kyle J. Williams (MATS, Portland Seminary, 2018).

"This intermediate grammar for students of New Testament Greek incorporates the advances of recent linguistic research in an accessible and understandable way."

This is a guide to grammar for second-year Greek students that's easy to understand and enjoyable to read. Written by respected Greek scholar David Alan Black, It's Still Greek to Me is organized according to the way language is actually used and incorporates humor to make important points. Engaging, accessible, and comprehensive, this volume takes the drudgery out of learning intermediate Greek.

The Morphology of Biblical Greek explains, in a way second-year Greek students can understand, how Greek words are formed. It shows that Greek word formation follows a limited set of rules. Once these rules are understood, it becomes clear that forms which once seemed to be irregular or an exception actually follow these morphological rules. The Morphology of Biblical Greek has five parts : 1. The rules that determine how Greek words change ; 2. The rules of verb formation, from augment to personal ending ; 3. Paradigms for every type of noun and adjective form, with all the words that belong in each category and any peculiarities of a given word ; 4. All the verbs and principal parts, with verbs that follow the same rules grouped together ; 5. An index of all words in the New Testament with their morphological category. This book contains the most complete set of paradigms for nouns, verbs, adjectives, and pronouns available for New Testament Greek.