Systematic Theology

"Providing Christians with a comprehensive reference volume covering every key issue, person, and concept related to Christian apologetics, this work offers extensive coverage of apologetics with articles on key individuals, philosophical systems and concepts, biblical controversies, contemporary issues, and perennial apologetic arguments. Valuable information and advice are provided for to a wide audience, including pastors and Christian leaders, students on college campuses, those involved in counter-cult ministries."

"This indispensable companion to key post-Reformation theological texts provides clear and concise definitions of Latin and Greek terms for students at a variety of levels. Written by a leading scholar of the Reformation and post-Reformation eras, this volume offers definitions that bear the mark of expert judgment and precision. The second edition includes new material and has been updated and revised throughout."

"Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology."

"This volume provides the complete text of key Scripture passages that form the basis for theological study. The text used is the highly readable and modern New International Version. The verses listed are grouped by the classical categories of systematic theology (e.g., God, Christ, Salvation); on disputed points, verses from which the major theological views derive are given. Footnotes provide clarification and brief commentary on verses as appropriate. This work is intended to assist the theological student who might not take the time to look up the verses cited in systematic theologies, but it will also be useful to anyone seeking to better understand the major themes of Scripture."

"This classic one-volume reference work is now substantially expanded and revised to focus on a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements. From African Christian Theology to Zionism, this volume of historical and systematic theology offers a wealth of information and insight for students, pastors and all thoughtful Christians."

"With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars."

The Oxford Handbook of Catholic Theology provides a one-volume introduction to all the major aspects of Catholic theology. Part One considers the nature of theological thinking, and the major topics of Catholic teaching, including the Triune God, the Creation, and the mission of the Incarnate Word. It also covers the character of the Christian sacramental life and the major themes of Catholic moral teaching. The treatments in the first part of the Handbook offer personal syntheses of Catholic teaching, but each offers an account in accord with Catholic theology as it is expressed in the Second Vatican Council and authoritative documentation. Part Two focuses on the historical development of Catholic Theology. An initial section offers essays on some of Catholic theology's most important sources between 200 and 1870, and the final section of the collection considers all the main movements and developments in Catholic theology across the world since 1870. This comprehensive volume features fifty-six original contributions by some of the best-known names in current Catholic theology from the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Africa. The chapters are written in an engaging and easily comprehensible style functioning both as a scholarly reference and as a survey of the field. There are no comparable studies available in one volume and the book will be an indispensable reference for students of Catholic theology at all levels and in all contexts.

Introduction : systemic theology / John Webster -- The existence of God / William J. Abraham -- The Trinity / Fred Sanders -- The attributes of God / Stephen R. Holmes -- Creation / David Fergusson -- Providence / Charles M. Wood -- Election / Katherine Sonderegger -- The human creature / David H. Kelsey -- The fall and sin / Ian McFarland -- Incarnation / Oliver D. Crisp -- Salvation / Paul S. Fiddes -- Justification / Dawn DeVries -- Resurrection and immortality / Douglas Farrow -- The Holy Spirit / Michael Welker -- The church / Ralph Del Colle -- Sacraments / Michael A. Fahey -- The Christian life / Reinhard Hütter -- Eschatology / Richard Bauckham -- Revelation / Ben Quash -- Scripture / Stephen E. Fowl -- Tradition / A.N. Williams -- Worship / Bryan D. Spinks -- Reason / Andrew Moore -- Experience / Ellen T. Charry -- Biblical studies / C. Kavin Rowe and Richard B. Hays -- Moral theology / Duane Stephen Long -- History / Rebecca Lyman -- Hermeneutics / Oliver Davies -- Philosophy / Gordon Graham -- Cultural theory / Kathryn Tanner -- Natural science / Nancey Murphy -- The arts / William A. Dryness -- Theologies of retrieval / John Webster -- Revisionism / Ian S. Markham -- Postmodern theology / Walter Lowe -- Liberation theology / Christopher Rowland -- Comparative theology / Francis X. Clooney -- Feminist theology / Joy Ann McDougall.