Research and Writing

"When Kate Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to the two methods of Chicago-style source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. - Back cover"This new edition of the classic reference work on writing research papers recognizes recent developments in information literacy--including finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources--and the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission while continuing to reflect best practices for research and writing, as adapted from the most recent editions of The Craft of Research and The Chicago Manual of Style."

"In the years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators."

When that research paper comes due and you've forgotten your style manual, get the guidance you need quickly with the Chicago Manual of Style QuickStudy* guide. Based on the 16th edition of CMS, this handy, easy-to-carry three-panel guide contains the information you need for writing academic papers to CMS specifications, pared down to the essentials, including common, real-world sample references for both CMS citation formats so that you can be sure you are giving appropriate credit where credit is due.

The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on quranic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages.

Sponsored by the Modern Language Association, the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers is often used for undergraduate research papers as well as for research papers in English, Literature, and related fields.

APA style is used for research in psychology, counseling, and related disciplines in the social sciences. "The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make a impact with their work."

"This updated book provides practical guidance for implementing the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Quantitative Research (JARS-Quant) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS). Author Harris Cooper uses examples from APA journals to illustrate how these standards can be applied to one's own writing while conforming with the APA Style guidelines in the Publication Manual, Seventh Edition. New and expanded chapters discuss how to report different statistical analyses and various types of research designs-including replication studies and clinical trials."-- Provided by publisher"This book offers practical guidance for understanding and implementing the American Psychological Association's Journal Article Reporting Standards for Quantitative Research (JARS-Quant) and Meta-Analysis Reporting Standards (MARS). These standards lay out the essential pieces information researchers need to report, including detailed accounts of the methods they followed, data results and analysis, interpretations of their findings, and implications for future research. The book reflects updates to the original JARS and the MARS that meet researchers' developing needs in the behavioral, social, educational, and medical sciences. It analyzes examples from APA journals, offering readers easy-to-read advice for implementing these revised standards in their own writing while also conforming with the APA Style guidelines laid out in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual. New and expanded chapters offer more detailed guidelines for reporting statistical analyses and unique elements of different types of research, including replication studies, clinical trials, and observational studies. This book is essential reading for experienced and early career researchers alike, as well as undergraduate and graduate students in research methods classes. It presents what JARS recommends for information to include in all reports on new quantitative data collections, and addresses the material that appears first in a research manuscript. It also describes the Method section, presents the JARS standards for reporting basic research designs and covers the general reporting requirements for the statistical results of studies with multiple participants in each condition."